Freedom is a Chain

ImageFreedom is a wonderful thing, right? It’s a privilege, to have so many options laid in front of us, for us to be able to write what we want, to say what we want, and to do what we want. In one of our vocabulary words, there was a word called Carte Blanche which means ‘complete freedom’. It almost sounds like a dream. It’s complete freedom, which means there are absolutely no restrictions at all. But if there were no boundaries, if there were endless amount of possibilities, where would we start and where would we end?

Image

In my honest opinion, humans need a wall, something to tell them “No, you can’t do that” or “You have to do that.” (e.g. Laws/Rules). As for me, my parents aren’t all that big on my grades. They aren’t constantly checking how well I’m doing or anything; they think as long as I’m doing my best, it’s fine. I know other students might actually want their parents to be like that, but as for me, I want them to to care. I actually went up to them and asked “Why aren’t you concerned whether or not I get good grades?” And they replied with, “Why would we care? You don’t get a grade for us, but for your own good. It’s all up to you whether you want to do well or not.” I don’t know if they’re using some reverse-psychology, but that really  drives me to do the best I can in school.

Image

Another thing that really irks me is the fact that my parents don’t give me any options on what I should be. I sincerely, with all my heart, want them to tell me what kind of career they want me to pursue. Even if I don’t end up pursuing that particular career, I want them to give me a starting point, somewhere I can start thinking about what I want to be. As you’re reading this you might be thinking, “What is wrong with this girl? Who wants their parents deciding their future, telling them what to be and what not to be?” Often, I have the same thoughts about myself, but it’s just that I have so many options and possibilities laid out before me, I don’t know what to do. Because they don’t restrict me, I’m rooted at the same spot, wondering which way to go.

ImageWhat I’m trying to say is that freedom isn’t truly “free”. Of course, there are many opportunities and choices, but there has to be some kind of restriction. Let’s use the United States as an example. It’s a country of “freedom”, in which we can write, say, or do practically anything we want. But even this country of freedom has its laws and rules that are needed to be kept for order. There is a reason why “Carte Blanche” is only a dream. If it were to exist in reality, we would be out killing everyone we hate, stealing from our neighbors, trashing the streets with our garbage, and all the things we aren’t allowed to do in our world right now. Even I, who have parents that leave my future up to me with no guiding from them whatsoever, have a restriction. I can’t go out to wherever I want, eat whatever I want, or just do whatever I want; I have certain rules to keep too. That is why “freedom” isn’t truly “freedom”, but loose chains, chains that will enable us to do some things, but pull us back and restrain us from doing other things. Every freedom comes with a chain, because freedom is a chain.

2 Comments

  1. Although I agree with the point that freedom isn’t truly free, I find it funny how when you were given freedom to decide what you want to be, you seem so lost and confused and without direction. It’s as if we, as humans, have grown accustomed to the “chains of freedom” and need some sort of “wall”, like you described, to guide us.
    -Uy

Leave a Reply

