Bittersweet Relationships

This is definitely one of my favorite songs. And, after watching this, my favorite music video:

Since my heart is golden,I’ve got sense to hold in, 

 Tempted just to make an ugly scene

 No, I’m not as proper.

 My money’s in copper,

 Ripped down from the brownstones to the street.

Listen,I’m your friend, don’t quote me,But not a friend worth noting.Yes, please don’t ever note me as your friend.Who says we have cold hearts?Acting out our old parts,Let’s perform my favorite little scene.Oh oh oh oh.
I get carried away, carried away, from youAnd I’m hoping and I’m praying,Cause I’m sorry, sorry ’bout that,Sorry ’bout things that I’ve said.Always let it get to my head.
Oh, European, once again with feeling.Higher education making sense?Justify your thesis, certain that you need this.Tell me what your point is in defense.
Listen,I don’t really know youAnd I don’t think I want to,But I think I can fake it if you can.Let’s agree, there’s no need, no more talk of money,Let’s just keep pretending to be friends.Oh oh oh oh.
I get carried away, carried away, from youAnd I’m hoping and I’m praying,Cause I’m sorry, sorry ’bout that.Sorry ’bout things that I’ve said.Always let it get to my head.[x2]
Wake up in the morning, wake up in the evening,Wake up when you want to,‘Cause no one’s really watching,Or else you’ll have something to say about it.But we all have problems,We’re all having problems,And we all got something to say.
I get carried away, carried away, from you,And I’m hoping and I’m praying,‘Cause I’m sorry, sorry ’bout that.Sorry ’bout things that I’ve said.Always let it get to my head.[x2]

The video is so bittersweet. Since this is Bittersweet Aspects, I will make bittersweet the new ‘it’ term for us now. The video displays a relationship, full of bittersweetness. You can see the two being a sweet couple, and then having angry, bitter frustrations with each other. I feel that every type of relationship is that way. There is no one hundred percent pure sweetness, joy. A relationship is going to be hard, going to be frustrating, and sometimes you do want to give up; it’s quite bitter.

But, what I love about it, is that even though you’re left bitter, angry, and ready to give up, there is a chance of this great, sweet ending. You see this happening in the video lots of times, and even though I do have a bitter side, this makes me go, ‘aww…’ or smile.

MY FAVORITES:

– I liked how it transitioned from the jumping into a fight -a mad angry frustration example- to jumping into the bed- a happy sweet example. It’s like they want to show that relationships are bitter and sweet, bittersweet.

-I love it because they don’t talk, so you can only imagine their tones. When she picks up the cat and says, ‘He needs a home,’ it’s perfect tone and everything in my head. I LOVE cats right now.

-The rain is fake. It took me twice to notice it because my friend showed me this video first. When he apologizes to her in the rain, its a sprinkler. That made me laugh so hard. It looks like a good trick though.

-The people who made this video were really creatively weird. My favorite detail is when she drops her coat, and a big dog pops up. Is it a symbol for something? I don’t know, but it was one cool detail.

-The ‘are you mad’ scenes cracked up my friend so it made me smile every time too, so it deserves mentioning. Especially the art board one. Made me laugh a lot. 



Leave a Reply

