Reaching Beyond The Limit/Don’t Laze Around on Your Butt All Day

Have you ever done or completed something that made you think, “I could have done better than that”? I have been constantly thinking that throughout my school years, disappointing myself every time a project doesn’t turn out the way I pictured. Back in elementary school, teachers gave me assignments that really limited me on what I can do or say. Even when I wanted to take a risk, they would actually forbid me to do so. Sure, it’s nice to have a set of guidelines, so we don’t have to waste time thinking about great ideas to impress our teachers, but really, it bogs down our imagination, our creativity. Honestly, if this keeps up, the minds of children will be filled with facts from books, unoriginal ideas, and boring thoughts.

bored kid

So, school is almost over for this year (over already for some. Lucky-butt college students), and this might also be the last blog post I make. I will occasionally (maybe) post some rants about problems in my life (if you’re at all interested about my life), but this is the last official blog post. Well, I might get together with LittleTunaCan and make one last collaboration post for next week, but that’s probably a slim chance I wouldn’t count on. Anyway, for my last Re-Framed post, I just want to post about something my teacher has been teaching the class for practically the whole school year – risk-taking, going beyond the limit. All my life, up until this year, I’ve presented projects that seem really dull compared to the projects I’ve turned in this year. If I do say so myself, they weren’t that bad, they just weren’t amazing and out-there. The ideas were simple and plain was all. This was due to the fact my creativity was limited by my previous teachers. There were always guidelines, rules, and pieces of paper with instructions on how to do things. But this year was different. What my English teacher always says is,

“Don’t tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity”

This year has been a mind-boggling roller-coaster for me. I felt like I’ve done more creative thinking in this class than I have in my entire life. Every time a new project came up, I tried to think of interesting, fun, and original ideas on how I should complete it, or to beat everyone else’s. I have to admit that this is probably going to be the most memorable year for me.

roller coaster             shocked girl on roller coaster

The one thing I’m probably disappointed in is the fact that I wasn’t able to leave a great impression. Which is why I want to inform everyone, to shout it in their ears, to let them know, that they should reach beyond the limit. Try something new or try something you’ve always wanted to do. Take a risk and don’t laze around on your butt all day. And also, don’t try to come up with excuses such as, “I don’t have time.” You have plenty of time.  You’re going to be on summer break for like two and a half months; it’s time for you to get off your tush, walk away from the computer and video games, and explore the possibilities. Okay, I admit, it’s not such a great advice from someone who’s sitting at home and writing a blog post. But, hey, I’m actually going to be adventurous and possibly dangerous, this summer; my schedule is already packed.

To put it simply, I don’t want others to make the same mistake as me. I don’t want you readers to regret and disappoint yourselves. Every day is a gift, every day is one more day you’re living, breathing, and moving. You can do almost anything, and yet, you choose to confine yourselves in boundaries and laze around, making excuses. That was me about a year ago, and now, I want to start going beyond the limits. This is one of the many teachings our Overlord Mr. T has taught us that really stuck to me and will probably stick with me for the rest of my life.

Thank you collage

Mr. T, if you’re reading this, thank you for a wonderful year. Having you as my English teacher was one of the most awesome things that happened to me. You taught me many things, and although I wasn’t able to get myself to freely express my ideas or really particularly make an impression, I had a lot of fun. I hope I get you again next year or two years from now, because although some of your assignments had me pulling my hair out, doing them was enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

